if I clear my cache (aka restore the phone) will it delete all of my existing text messages, photos, videos, apps, etc? What is the impact of taking this step to clear the cache?
Clearing Cache and Factory Restore/Reset are two separate actions.
See here for instructions to Clear your Cache. This will **NOT **delete any of your saved data.
See here for instructions on Factory Reset. This WILL delete all your saved data.