Delete photos on phone

I have a motog5+, storage is nearly full. My photos are taking up most of the space. They are backed up on Google . If I delete photos off phone, will my photos will still be in Google? I think so, but I don’t want to take a chance of losing my photos. What’s the best way to proceed? Thank you

The safe way to do this is documented in the Google Photos help document linked below:

4 Likes
Message an
Expert customer