Getting a home security system

Hi all , this is my 1st time here and I feel a little bit un easy. Thats because I’m no Techie
I dont know which plan to go with .
I have a Moto G 1st gen and all I use it for is texts and calling .
Question 1 : I’m buying a Ring security system and it will call my cell phone if the camera detects motion ,
2: also I’m wanting to have GPS on my phone for travelling and LIGHT web searches ( like looking up phone numbers .)
I currently have the cheapest plan and usually pay @ $ 10 /month
Sooo , can someone tell me which plan ? I cant get on the 'net now , and I do have wifi ( ATT ) at home .I use Google at home on my laptop
3: I thought I was going to get unlimited EVERYthing free if I was at a wifi hotspot
I’m confused .

Your Moto G 1st Gen is a legacy phone could be on either the grandfathered 1.0 plans [$10 unlimited talk and text or $25 3G data plan] or the 2.0 Republic refund plans [$10 base (includes unlimited talk and text) and data at $7.50 per 1/2 GB {$15 per 1GB}]
In order to get the my choice plan [$15 (unlimited talk and text) + $5 per GB (no refunds)] one needs to upgrade to newer 3.0 phone

In order to view a camera away from WiFi the phone would need data, [it looks like the Android app should still work with the 1st Gen Moto G]
The same is true when doing searches and using a non offline GPS apps [Here we go and Google maps both have good offline maps options]

Wecome @bmwriderred!

No need to feel uneasy! This community is for all RW customers regardless of tech level. We all try our best to help each other. So you are in the right place if you need help or want to give it :wink:

If you are keeping your Moto G then I believe you need to move to the 2.0 refund plan and add 1/2 GB so your new Ring system can get a hold of your phone when you are not connected via WiFi. Republic Wireless Plans 2.0: Republic Refund