How to Manage Your Money: 3 Principles from JL Collins

Originally published at: https://pwk.republicwireless.com/how-to-manage-your-money-with-jl-collins/

Here at Republic Wireless, we are passionate about helping you save money for the more important things in life. We also know that personal finance and managing your monthly expenses while also thinking about long term savings goals can be overwhelming. In fact, we learned in a recent survey that 53% of Americans feel at least somewhat overwhelmed by financial burdens, and that thinking about finances keeps 59% of us up at night1. So, we recently sat down with financial guru JL Collins to get his take on personal finance and learn his tricks of the trade. Collins is an…

1 Like

Overall, great advice, however, Collins’ principles might seem unattainable for a lot of people who are struggling day to day. I absolutely agree about tracking expenses - I’ve been doing this for almost 40 years. I retired at 62, put two kids through college debt free and have no debt and that’s not a coincidence. By the way, some debt is ok, like a mortgage. Credit card debt, auto debt or leasing is an anchor.

Spending only 50% of your take home pay isn’t really necessary unless you want to be financially independent at a very young age (BTW - don’t have children!). If someone works for an employer that has a 401k, start with small percentage contribution. Let’s say they get a 4% raise. Allocate 2% to the 401k. Keep doing this until they get to 10% or more. If they start early enough, and invest it properly, they will get to financial independence.