Huawei Ascend information

How does the new phone look? Pretty damn good.

Huawei Ascend | Republic Wireless

1 Like

GSM only - No CDMA - big ding against phone - therefore works only on RW’s GSM partner. Will not work with Sprint.

rajivb wrote:

GSM only - No CDMA - big ding against phone - therefore works only on RW’s GSM partner. Will not work with Sprint.

Yeah, the glass is half full for you. For me, it’s that and no wireless charging or USB-C.

For me, the glass is more than half full: SD card and fingerprint reader. But most importantly, the phone only costs $9. This $179 Ascend is reduced to $129. Subtract $20/mo x 6 mo. of free 3.0 of unlimited talk & text plus a GB of data each month. Fortunately, the big four carriers in Phoenix have blanket 4G signals.

1 Like

USB-C and Wireless charging on a $179/$129/$9 phone? That’s asking a lot.

1 Like

I know I am sounding like an idiot asking this question, but as a PHX area resident I am hoping you and some others can help me make a decision. Right now I have the 1st gen MOTO X. Here in Tucson where I live, I do not always get good service (voice quality… hesitations, etc) but I am never sure if it’s the phone, my wifi or just lack of sprint capability in this area. When we travel - and it’s usually in the west where neither Sprint nor TMobile have much of a presence - we run into large swaths where I have not been able to get any service at all. So I went from the $10 wifi/cell plan to the refund plan, and after our last trip was so disgusted that I went back to the $10 plan.