I Keep Hearing a "Cha-Ching" (Cash Register) Notification on Moto G5. Why?

Hello…First off, I’m new to the world of smart phones and have only had my Moto G5 Plus for just over a month. What I’m wondering is–why do I keep hearing a cash register notification sound (“cha-CHING”)? It happens several times just randomly throughout the day and it’s driving me nuts! I can’t tell by looking at the notification bar what it might be, because I’m not entirely sure what some of the little icons mean. Does anyone else get this and/or know what this could be?
Thank you in advance!

Hi @tmfoster!

It’s likely that it’s for your notifications. Go into your settings :settingsicon: , click the “Sounds” option, and then scroll down to see which sounds are selected. You should be able to tap on it to see other sounds and hear the sound. In Android, it usually plays one sound for almost all your app notifications. Therefore, the Cha-Ching sound is probably for different notifications (it’s just that they are all using the same sound). I hope that helps!

mb2x

Thanks, @mb2x! I went into “other sounds” and turned off all of them except for the screen locking sounds; now I guess I’ll just wait and see if I still hear the cha-ching. Hopefully this takes care of the problem.

Thanks again for your help,
Terri

@tmfoster

I installed the Offerup app on my phone. It took it upon itself to use a cha-ching notification sound. No other app I’ve installed does this.

Here is a link to the app in case you want to see what the logo looks like:

https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.offerup&hl=en

Hmmm, interesting, @johnny5…I have seen this app pop up at times in ads, so I’ll check to make sure that I didn’t accidentally install it. Thanks for your reply!
~Terri

I believe “retail-me-not” notifications also come with a “cha-ching” sound.