Is this service compatible with vpn?

Wondering if vpn is necessary for security with this service. Seems that many of the Wifi connections that can be used when away from home would be public and therefore not secure. So would vpn work with the service when combined with cellular connection? You can likely guess I am a novice.

It all depends on the Wifi you are connected to. I use a VPN to my router when connected to public Wifi when doing certain things, banking, sites with passwords, etc. I have found a few Wifi spots where my VPN would not connect which means they must be blocking the ports it needs, so I don’t do as much with wifi there.

As a side note: my VPN doesn’t allow calls to come through on wifi when connected. I don’t connect up VPN all that often so I haven’t bothered trying to get it to work.

Hi @rileyw.5ztetq,

You may certainly use a VPN when connected to public WiFi hotspots if you wish. Your experience is likely to mirror @johnf.qwchk1’s in that calls will be routed over cellular rather than WiFi. This is due to the additional latency introduced by the VPN. Higher latency and real-time voice do not get along well together. The VPV latency overhead should not impact cell data use.

rileyw.5ztetq wrote:

Is this service compatible with vpn?

I generally say yes, it just depends what type of VPN. I’ve had good luck with OpenVPN.