Just upgraded and concerned I could be charged twice for service

plans

#1

Hi, I just upgraded my phone and my data plan yesterday. Unfortunately, this coincided with my monthly payment for my old plan which I did last night. Am I going to be charged twice this month when my upgraded data plan takes effect?

Thanks in advance


#2

Hi @kentw.dgfzww,

Short answer, no. For more detail, may we know brand, model and (if applicable) generation of both old and new phone?


#3

[quote=“rolandh, post:2, topic:10315”]
Short answer, no
[/quote]As said there are many variables.

You can easily check payments/orders in your account Manage Phones area to ease your concerns.


#4

The old phone is a Moto G (1st Gen.) and the new phone is a Moto G5 Plus.


#5

when you upgrade from a legacy phone to a 3.0 phone any unused portion of the legacy plan will be prorated for what ever left on it (be it 1 day or 30 days any unused refund data will also be refunded )


#6

Good to know. Thanks!


#7

The key here is that your billing cycle does not change.

So your first payment for the new plan will be pro-rated to end of your current billing cycle.
Also, you will get a pro-rated refund as noted by @drm186 above. Starting with your next
billing cycle everything should be routinized.

You should review your next couple of bills, just to make sure that everything looks
as expected.


#8

The new 3.0 plan is also prorated. If it was activated as an upgrade on the last day of your billing cycle you would see a very small refund/payment for that one day of billing period.


#9

This topic was automatically closed 60 days after the last reply. New replies are no longer allowed.