Moto G7 WiFi connection

Just got my Moto g 7. I have the small “arc” at the top-but it is hollow-so it would seem that I am not connected to WiFi. When I press the WiFI it says I am connected. So i’m not sure how to tell if I am on WiFi or not so I feel like I am getting two differing messages.

The WiFi can be ‘connected’ but not of the quality to fully support Republic Wireless phone calling and.or messaging.
Do a one finger swipe down and then look at the Republic Wireless ‘Notification’, verbiage and color of the arc will help narrow the problem down and will let you know what restrictions are. Check the Help Doc for full details

• Please post back what you find and the community can better respond

Thanks Jben. There is a hollow blue arc. the message on pull down states "Calls over cell, messages and data over WiFi. This is my first time at work with my new phone, connecting to the WiFi here. My last RW moto had no problems. It will very briefly show a filled in arc, but then goes hollow again. From the help document-the following is true:

1. On WiFi: Calls over cell, messages and data over WiFi
  • This status may show full arc however if something is blocking SSID (firewall, ex.) then cell data may still be used, or some sites may be inaccessible through the WiFi network.
  • Empty blue arc

But, I just don’t know what to do about it…

Ok, thanks for the complete answer, which raises additional questions :frowning:

• What was the previous phone?
  • Could you Receive & Send a text, then check the log to see if they actually were received/sent via your WiFi?

Previous phone was Moto x 2

How/where do I check log for the text?

Ok, checked the texts, looks like they were indeed over WiFi. But (dumb question) there is no “key” under View Calls and Messages as to which symbol is Cell and Which symbol is WiFi. I am assuming cell is the perpendicular lines that get taller going to the right, and that WiFi is the 3 arched triangular lines.