Remote Forwarding Landline Number

I know I have asked this question here before, but thought maybe technology has possibly caught up and someone will have a better idea for me.

I have Comcast for my internet and landline phone. For 10 years, I have had to have a separate company to remote forward my old Bellsouth number onto the Comcast number as it has been my business phone number for 25 years. It was MGC, then Windstream and finally Talk America as they kept getting shuffled around and bought out. Now Talk America is apparently going out of business and Comcast told me that they cannot take the Bellsouth number. Wondering if any techie brains here, might have a good option for keeping that number as the way I’ve been doing it for the last 20 years or so…?

Thanks for any help,

Amy B

Hi @amyb9,

As a starting point, what are the area code and prefix (first six digits) for the referenced business number? To protect your privacy, please don’t share the entire number.

404-266

Hi @amyb9,

Please pardon what may sound like an impertinent question, however, what is Comcast’s reason for not being able to take the number? The number is in the Atlanta rate center. Comcast should be able to accept it.

Otherwise, is the goal to continue forwarding to your current Comcast number or are you in the market for a service provider that would take the number?

Talk America is who has been remote forwarding it, but they are going out of business in a month. There are no other providers except for AT&T according to customer service. In other words, not sure why there are no other service providers anymore. And if there is another way to save that number, then that’s what I’m looking for.

Hi @amyb9,