Repeat notifications

I have been using Anywhere for a couple of years. I often miss an aural notification because of hearing loss. Is there a way to turn on “repeat notifications”, i.e. a beep or other audio notification that a message has arrived, that will continue until I read the message? Or some other means of alerting me that a message has arrived? I am using a Pixel 3a, standard launch configuration.

Hi @philp,

What you ask for is not a feature built-in to either Republic Anywhere or Android generally. There are third party apps that may help. A sample search at Google’s Play Store is linked here: https://play.google.com/store/search?q=repeat%20notification%20alert&c=apps. I have not used any of these apps.

Thank you for your response. I tried some 3rd party apps, could not find what I was looking for.

What did they lack?

There is a visual notification at the top of the screen.

Would an app that uses the flash to notify you be useful? (It seems this is an accessibility setting in some Samsung phones, but I don’t see anything similar in my Moto, and I don’t have a Pixel to explore.)

They lacked audible, repeatable notifications. In short, I’d like incoming texts to ring like a phone.

That’s interesting, and I had not understood that earlier. When you wrote “that will continue until I read the message,” I thought you were looking for what we call “persistent notifications” where it keeps beeping or chirping the notification tone every few minutes until you notice it, possibly even for hours.

Wanting it to ring like a phone… I think you can accomplish that without an app. Notification tones are typically very short sounds like a beep or a chirp. You’ll just assign a much longer audio file as the notification tone. You can even use a full-length song if you’d like.