Samsung Galaxy S7 SM-G930V

I’m a bit tech illiterate when it comes to this sort of thing and I couldn’t find a definite online, maybe someone here can help. I currently have an S7 that I purchased through Verizon and am looking to leave them. While the SM-G930V is not compatible with Republic, the SM-G930U is. This may be a “duh” question, but is the “V” in the model number something that keeps me married to Verizon’s service with this phone or is this something that can be changed by Verizon to G930U so that I could use Republic? I know you can sometimes pay your carrier to unlock a phone but I was under the impression that Verizon sells unlocked phones to begin with. I would love to hold on to my phone but a lot of my options are requiring me to buy another.

Thanks for your time.

0 Likes

there is a Hardware difference between the Verizon Model and the North American Factory unlock model as well as software differences (on can flash the firmware for the U model in a V but it still has hardware differences

Republic has so far not approved any carrier versions

please see here for the results of a software flash WARNING before BYOP

0 Likes

Yea, that last letter in the model number is significant from a hardware point of view. My wife recently tried to move her SM-G930T (T-Mobile) to Verizon for what she thought would be better coverage only to learn that Verizon could not activate it. T-Mobile says it is ‘unlocked’. But it seems that ‘unlocked’ doesn’t tell the whole story and doesn’t mean the same thing to mere mortals as it does to the techies of the world!

0 Likes