Samsung J3 vs. Huawei 5W

Good evening all.

I am considering the purchase of the Ascend 5W during the promo period to replace a Sammy J3. With so little information on the 5W, I thought I would ask the community their opinion(s).

The Ascend appears to have the J3 beat in specifications, and although I understand specs do not always tell the whole story… (Exynos 3475 vs. Snapdragon 615, for example) … wondering if this is an upgrade, downgrade, or evengrade…

One of my main points of curiosity is the user interface… Touchwiz vs. EMUI. Since I have no experience with either, I would love some feedback on this subject and/or any other thoughts my esteemed fellow members may interrelate.

Thanks, .

I have a Samsung J3 that I bought largely to gain experience with TouchWiz. I’m not a huge fan of TouchWiz (prefer a more stock Android experience) though there are some nice tweaks. The ability to both selectively and bulk delete items in the Dialer’s call history (including voicemails) for example.

On the hardware side, I find the J3 a solid but pedestrian phone. The camera isn’t particularly good. An AMOLED display on a $180 phone is nice though. I guess a solid display shouldn’t be a surprise considering it’s a Samsung.

Regarding the Ascend 5W, other than the published specs, I no nothing about it (does anyone at this point) nor have I used EMUI. Taking into account the value of the free service, net cost is $9 plus taxes and shipping. Hard to beat that deal, so I’ll be in line with you. Another toy to play with and an opportunity to try EMUI.

Well thank-you for the reply @rolandh

…feeling like I’m on the moon or something…

rolandh wrote:

Another toy to play with and an opportunity to try EMUI.

I am trying to create a reason to justify this purchase, but another toy fairly sums it up…