SIM Card Dilemma

Hi,
I have a Moto G7 & am planning on upgrading to something newer. I then want to give my G7 to my Mom because she still has her old G4 & it’s on its last legs. I was curious about the SIM cards. Can I just take the SIM card out of my G7 & put it into the new phone I end up getting? Since I’m going to give my G7 to my Mom, can I take out the SIM card from her G4 & put it in my G7? I’m not very tech savvy so I need a little help.
Thank you for any help you can offer me !

Hi @toxicdoll,

I wrote an article for the community intended to help answer questions such as yours. It’s linked here:

Should that presentation seem overwhelming, please identify whether the current referenced SIMs are GSM or CDMA:

3 Likes

I’m just confusing myself I’m sure. I haven’t purchased my new phone yet 'cuz I wanted to get this SIM card sorted out. I do know that I plan on getting a Motorola phone. I know that my Mom’s G4 is CDMA compatible as is the G7 that I want to give to her. Does she have to contact RW about purchasing a compatible SIM card?

This is what we are trying to determine. The Moto G4 and Moto G7 are both GSM and CDMA network compatible. This is why we need to determine which Republic SIM (GSM or CDMA), the phones are currently provisioned with.

Generally, GSM SIMs may be moved from one phone to the next. Generally, active CDMA SIMs do not move from one phone to the next. Therefore, to help with next steps, we need you to share with us whether the SIMs currently residing in the Moto G4 and Moto G7 respectively are GSM or CDMA. Here’s how to find out:

1 Like

I just talked with her & she has a CDMA SIM type. So I’m still thinking that she’s gonna have to contact RW to get a new card. I’ll be ordering my new phone within the next few days so I want to get things straightened out & get her all setup with my G7.