Suggested Improvement to Voicemail

voicemail

I’m new to Republic and generally happy. I think the voicemail handling could use some improvement though.

It is very easy to have unheard voicemails that you are not aware of. This can happen if: 1) you get a voicemail while you are already on the phone - in this case you get a one-time audible sound but no notification banner; 2) you dismiss the notification and forget about it; or 3) you click on the notification but don’t listen to the voicemail (or you listen to the wrong voicemail).

There should be some persistent visual indication on the screen that you have unheard messages. Maybe a little red number, similar to the one that tells you how many unread emails you have. Or maybe an icon (no number) that indicates you have at least one unheard voicemail. Unlike the new voicemail notification, these would not go away until you actually listen to the voicemail. And so you would always know whether you have unheard messages, just by looking for the icon.

Even my old flip-phone could do this, it must be possible for these smartphones.

Hi @peterm.apcmv6

Great post. It would be very helpful to the community to know which device you are using. On my MXP, I always have a notification until I dismiss it or swipe it away.

I can always check voicemail through the native dialer via the :voicemail: tab.

Hi @peterm.apcmv6,

If I’m correctly grasping what you’re suggesting, you’d like the Phone app’s icon badged when there is voicemail received. Have you by chance used Apple’s iOS in the past? If I’m barking up the right tree what you ask for is not something Republic would be able to deliver. Icon badging is a function of the phone not Republic’s service.

By default (and unlike iOS) Android doesn’t badge app icons. Some manufacturer’s (Samsung and Huawei among them) emulate Apple’s iOS and do so. It’s also something that can be added by a third party launcher such as this one:

You’d need this add-on as well: