This is a continuation of another discusion

As I was replying to a question from yesterday the thread closed to where I could not reply. I’ll see if I can pick it up here.

Thanks for the reply. I’m a technician. I have a basic understanding of cellular frequencies, bands, maps, phone specs and such. The T-Mobile map shows I have strong 4g LTE coverage here. The Sprint map shows I have strong CDMA coverage here. The AT&T map shows I have strong 4g LTE here but they don’t seem to offer Motorola devices.

When I research further the T-Mobile 4g LTE map here does not list the Moto Z Play as a compatible device. It does say I have 1900Mhz band 2 on the tower here and the Moto Z Play also shows it has 1900Mhz Band 2. However the phone is not listed as a covered device on the T-Mobile coverage map. Also I read that even if the tower and device have the same band and frequency that does not mean that the cell site is optimized for them to be compatible.

I also noticed the T-Mobile coverage as a whole and 4g LTE on T-Mobile is very sparse in rural areas and non-existent in some states while the Sprint CDMA coverage is far better in rural areas and throughout most of the US.

So basically it’s still “clear as mud” as to weather the Moto Z Play will work here with republic/T-Mobile 4g LTE.

It’s sounding like I’ll be better off staying with a Sprint CDMA device if I stay with Republic. Verizon looks best with a Moto Z Play Droid. It’s the same phone but can works on CDMA or 4g LTE. Verizon has excellent 4g LTE coverage with that phone. They offer a 5Gb data plan at $40/mo plus the cost of the phone. That was the cheapest plan. It’s twice as expensive or more. I don’t use phones a lot so I tend to go for the less expensive options. It seems can’t get the phone I want at a decent plan rate with decent coverage. All in all pretty confusing stuff.