WiFi calling outside of cell service range, an impossibility?

wifi

What phone do you have? Moto X 2nd Gen
What plan are you on? Republic Refund
Does your plan include data, or just talk & text? Data included

Issue Description

I am a student at a far-off boarding school in the rural US. The only provider servicing the area is US Cellular. This means that while on the campus WiFi I can send texts, but under no circumstances can I complete a phone call. I can receive a call if someone dials my number, but upon answering it, the call fails, never having established a connection.

Undoubtedly this is expected behavior., persisting through both PRL/Profile updates and factory resets. My question is: is there no hope for ever being able to complete calls while outside of cell service? I.e., is this an engineering impossibility? If so, what kind of solutions does the RW team propose for these sorts of cases?

Hi @deborahc.vssqy6,

It sounds like something about your campus Wi-Fi is blocking Wi-Fi calls. My daughter’s high school was a boarding school that was part of the state university system, and the school’s network management team was willing to make adjustments to their network to allow her phone to make and receive Wi-Fi calls. If the network team at your school would be amenable, I’d be glad to help facilitate the same kind of conversation.

Thanks for the reply.

I will reach out to the IT director and ask if they can deploy a fix, and if they need more info I’ll reach out to you.

To clarify, in a perfect world, IT could just open up 6000-29999 UDP to let calls through? Since I can receive calls and voicemail I assume that 5090 UDP and 8883 TCP are open already.

Hi @deborahc.vssqy6,

@jben has a good synopsis of the required ports in his Router Tweaks article, in the Required Ports & Protocol for Open Access section.